nyxnix's space

write more

i mentioned to a friend recently that i'd like to write more. i like to write, if that wasn't evident by my writing here. this place serves a particularly cathartic purpose - to get how i feel out of my head and into ink, and then send it off the world. i'm glad to do it, but i want to write more than just this.

i've indulged in reading some fics recently. one of them made me cry, more than once. i've entertained the idea of writing something like this in the past, but never acted on it. maybe that's what i need now - something to satisfy that urge, something low-stakes, and something i can publish online. i don't publish online for others to read, really - although of course i anticipate at least another person might glance it. publishing it gives it a sense of finality, a feeling that my writing exists separate to me. on my computer it stays mine - it dies with me, in a sense. on the internet it exists outside of me. it is - literally - somewhere else.

not that i really planned to have a new-years resolution, but i suppose this is as good as any. maybe i'll file it next to "figure out what the fuck is up with that gender stuff" and do both at the same time.